Chevy Racing–Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins Milwaukee for Second Consecutive Year

Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins Milwaukee for Second Consecutive Year
Chevrolet IndyCar V6 Drivers Sweep Top-Five Finishing Positions on Famed One-Mile Oval
WEST ALLIS, Wisc (June 15, 2013) – Ryan Hunter-Reay is not a stranger to Victory Lane at the famed Milwaukee Mile.  For the second consecutive year, and the third time in his career, the defending IZOD IndyCar Series Champion won at the storied track.
Driving the No. 1 DHL Andretti Autosport Chevrolet, Hunter-Reay was credited with leading three times for a total of 65 laps in the 250-lap/250-mile race.  He took the lead for the final time on lap 198 and never looked back on the way to his second victory of 2013 and the 11th of his career.
The victory was sixth for the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 Twin Turbocharged engine in 2013 and extended Chevrolet’s lead in the IndyCar Series Manufacturers’ Championship Standings.
It was an all-Chevrolet podium as well as an all-Chevrolet top-five.  Filling out the podium were the two Team Penske Chevrolet drivers.  Points leader Helio Castroneves finished second in the No. 3 PPG Automotive Finishes Chevrolet and Will Power brought the No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet to the checkered flag in third position.  Castroneves now leads Hunter-Reay in the championship standings by 16 points.
Hunter-Reay’s Andretti Autosport teammates E.J. Viso and James Hinchcliffe completed the top-five finishers in the ninth race of the 2013 season.
“Following a strong command of qualifying, Team Chevy added another win to the season tally,” said Chris Berube, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, IZOD IndyCar Series.  “Ryan Hunter-Reay drove a solid race starting 4th to take the win for the second year in a row here at the Milwaukee Mile.  Congratulations to Ryan and Andretti Autosport, as well as Team Penske for Helio and Will completing the all-Chevy podium!  Team Chevy is working well together and this second consecutive sweep of the podium moves Chevrolet to a 9 point lead in the manufacturers’ battle.  We shift our focus now to Iowa for the unique qualifying format and short oval excitement.”
Pole winner and points leader coming into today’s race, Marco Andretti, suffered an electrical problem that sent him to the paddock for repairs. He returned to competition 74 laps down to the leader, but gained three spots in the finishing order to be scored 20th at the checkered flag.  He now sits third in the standings.
Next on the IZOD IndyCar Series Schedule is the Iowa Corn Indy 250 set for Sunday, June 23, 2013.  The 250-lap race is scheduled to start at 3:00 p.m. ET with live TV coverage on ABC TV.
Live radio coverage will be on IMS Radio Network XM 211/Sirius 211 as well as in conjunction with live timing and scoring on

Post navigation