WHAT TO WATCH FOR: The Nasty Track Can-Am Speedway Kicks Off the Super DIRTcar Series Points Season

LaFARGVILLE, NY – Today is a day of celebration. Not just 410 Sprint Car Day. Today marks the long-awaited return of the Super DIRTcar Series in the Northeast.For the first time in 518 days – due to the pandemic – the Series run a points-paying race to kick off the 2021 season at Can-Am Speedway for the $7,500-to-win, 100-lap, Thunder in the Thousand Islands 100The 100-lap Feature will separate one driver from the 26-car starting lineup. There is no shortage of storylines going into this highly anticipated race.If you can’t make it to the track, every Super DIRTcar Series race will be broadcast live on DIRTVision.

Here are the top storylines to follow:The Championship Begins: The biggest names in dirt modified racing are bringing their Big Blocks to bear at Can-Am. Mat Williamson, Matt Sheppard, Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, and the list goes on are locked into a season-long championship battle and it all starts with the $7,500-to-win Thunder in the Thousand Islands 100.All 17 full-time Series are slated to be in the house with 20-plus others making their intentions known. Plus, there may be a few more surprises dropping by the LaFargville, NY race track. Max McLaughlin, who won the Big Gator championship at the DIRTcar Nationals over Billy Decker is set to go for the $7,500 grand prize. Other big names like four-time NAPA Super DIRT Week champion and NASCAR Truck Series driver Stewart Friesen, recent first-time Series winner Michael Maresca, Can-Am ringers like Billy Dunn, Tim Fuller, Pat Ward, and more are slated to go for the $7,500 winner’s share. The Bandit and The Bat: Watch for Jimmy Phelps and Peter Britten to make some noise as both drivers have made the switch to Bicknell chassis and have shown early success and speed with them. Phelps and Britten are experienced, confident drivers who know how to take the long view of a Super DIRTcar Series season. Phelps came away with a pair of top-10s at Volusia but he’s coming off a huge night at Fulton Speedway last October sweeping both the Super DIRTcar Series Feature and the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Feature. Britten put together a superb DIRTcar Nationals in his new Bicknell, picking up two top-fives and four top-10s in four races. Batman has finished outside the top-10 in his last two Series starts at Can-Am. Rookies in Victory Lane?: DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series champion Kevin Root has made the move into Big Blocks in a big way. He’s behind the wheel of the fabled #4* which has been filled by Brett Hearn and Tim McCreadie in the past. Root has won everything there is to win in the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified division including Land of Legends Raceway and Brewerton Speedway track championships plus DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series regional and overall championships. Chris Hile is finally ready to begin his first full-time year in the Series. With over 50 starts to his name including two top fives and 14 top 10s. Plus driver Olden Dwyer from Vermont is also a rookie this season. While not a rookie on the Series (yet) the Land of Legends Raceway runner Robbie Johnston will make the tow to Can-Am. He was the 2020 DIRTcar Big Block Modified Rookie of the Year, making most of his starts against a stacked Canandaigua field throughout 2020 as well as participating in DIRTcar OktoberFAST.TicketsSpectator Information & Pricing: GA Gate will open at 2:30pmGA Pricing for this Special Event: 18+: $305-17: $15Under 5: FreeMore info at RaceCanAm.comDIRTVisionIf you can’t make it to the track then be sure to pick up your DIRTvision FAST PASS for all the Super DIRTcar Series, World of Outlaws, and DIRTcar Racing action live.Follow us!Follow the Super DIRTcar Series on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and at SuperDIRTcar.com for news, notes, photos, videos, and more.The Nasty TrackCan-Am Speedway is a 5/8-mile clay oval in LaFargville, NY, just a few miles from the Canadian border as the name implies. The track sanctions three Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly Championship divisions: DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, and DIRTcar Pro Stocks. The legendary “Hurricane” Steve Paine currently holds the record for the most Series wins at Can-Am with three. Matt Sheppard, who has two Series wins there, has the Series track record with a 19.084 sec. Lap.In addition to the 100-lap Super DIRTcar Series Feature there will also be a DIRTcar Sportsman Modifed and Pro Stock Feature all of which will be on DIRTVision. Super DIRTcar Series Winners at Can-Am Speedway7/19/88 – Doug Hoffman7/18/89 – Brett Hearn7/17/90 – Pat O’Brien7/23/91 – Steve Paine7/21/92 – Doug Hoffman7/21/93 – Steve Paine7/20/94 – Alan Johnson8/30/95 – Danny O’Brien7/18/96 – Bob McCreadie7/17/97 – Steve Paine7/16/98 – Pat Ward7/22/99 – Billy Decker7/20/00 – Danny Johnson7/24/02 – Tim McCreadie9/6/03 – Tim McCreadie7/28/04 – Gary Tomkins8/18/07 – Tim Fuller8/18/07 – Steve Paine8/16/08 – Gary Tomkins8/21/09 – Matt Sheppard4/13/19 – Matt Sheppard10/9/20 – Anthony Perrego All-Time Can-Am Speedway WinnersPat O’Brien 73Billy Dunn 51Doug Carlyle 37Danny O’Brien 36Bob McCreadie 35Marcel LaFrance 33Frankie Caprara 32Tim Fuller 28Rick Wilson 27Lee Gill 27Tony Corcoran 24PHOTO: Rebecca Eisle 
The Super DIRTcar Series is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: DIRTVision (Official Live Broadcast Partner), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), SIS Insurance (Official Insurance Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel), Chevy Performance Parts, iRacing (Official Online Racing Game) and NAPA Auto Parts. Contingency sponsors include: ARP (Automotive Racing Products), ASI Race Wear, Bicknell Racing Products, Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux, Cometic Gasket, COMP Cams, Drydene, Fox Factory, MSD, and Wrisco (Exclusive Racing Aluminum); along with manufacturer sponsors, including: FireAde, Intercomp, and Racing Electronics.