Chevy Racing–Chevrolet Wins 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship

Chevrolet Wins 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship
Title is Fourth Consecutive for the Chevrolet IndyCar Program

DETROIT (August 30, 2015) – For the fourth consecutive season, Chevrolet is the Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Champion. The Chevrolet 2.2 liter turbocharged V6 IndyCar engine program combined with the new-for-2015 Chevrolet Aero Kit to produce16 poles and nine wins – including the Indianapolis 500 by Juan Pablo Montoya.

“Our fourth consecutive manufacturer championship is the result of consistent preparation, teamwork and execution by our Chevrolet teams, drivers and technical partners,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports for Chevrolet. “Together we focused on delivering strong engine and aero performance all season long.”

Chevrolet has won the manufacturer championship each year since returning to IndyCar in 2012.

“It is a proud moment for Chevrolet to win the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship,” said Mark Kent, Director, Chevrolet Racing. “This title is the result of a collaborative and cooperative effort by Chevrolet, Ilmor Engineering, Hitachi, Pratt & Miller Engineering and all of our Chevy teams that worked tirelessly to make this fourth consecutive championship possible.”

The four Chevrolet IndyCar key partner teams contributing to the title include: Team Penske, with drivers Juan Pablo Montoya, Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud; Chip Ganassi Racing, with drivers Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball, Sage Karam and Sebastian Saavedra; CFH Racing, with drivers Josef Newgarden, Ed Carpenter, and Luca Filippi and KV Racing Technology (KVSH Racing and KV Racing), with drivers Sebastien Bourdais and Stefano Coletti;

Since 2012, in addition to the four consecutive manufacturer championships, Chevrolet won driver championships with Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012) and Power (2014), and the Indianapolis 500 with Kanaan (2013) and Montoya (2015). Previously, Chevrolet competed in Indy-style racing as an engine manufacturer of V8 engines from 1986-93 and 2002-05, powering seven Indianapolis 500 wins and six driver championships.

2015 Race Wins:

Streets of St. Petersburg, Juan Pablo Montoya
Streets of Long Beach, Scott Dixon
Barber Motorsports Park, Josef Newgarden
Grand Prix of Indianapolis, Will Power
Indianapolis 500, Juan Pablo Montoya (2)
Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Race No. 2, Sebastien Bourdais
Texas Motor Speedway, Scott Dixon (2)
Streets of Toronto, Josef Newgarden (2)
Milwaukee Mile, Sebastien Bourdais (2)