Team JEGS Pre-race–Texas

Team JEGS Pre-race Notes
AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals
Pre-race Notes
AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals
(Dallas) Oct. 13-15,

The JEGS Mail Order team will be represented at this week’s 32nd annual AAA Texas NHRA Fallnationals by six-time world champion Jeg Coughlin Jr. behind the wheel of the Elite Motorsports Pro Stock Camaro.

Jeg Jr.’s Camaro will once be adorned in pink for the month of October as part of breast cancer awareness month.

Jeg Jr. will continue his pursuit of a sixth NHRA Mello Yello Pro Stock title (and seventh overall) at this weekend’s event. Jeg Jr. will be driving a Rick Jones Race Cars-built Chevy Camaro as a member of the Elite Motorsports team.

Jeg Jr. enters the Dallas event ranked No. 8 in the NHRA Mello Yello Pro Stock points standings. This is the fourth event in the Countdown to the Championship, NHRA’s six-race playoff. This year, Jeg Jr. has earned runner-up finishes in Houston and Topeka to go with four semifinal results.

Jeg Jr. is teammates with two-time world champ Erica Enders, Brian “Lump” Self and Alex Laughlin. Veteran crew chiefs Rick Jones, Mark Ingersoll and Self are the tuners of the Elite Pro Stock cars and regularly share data.

This season, Jeg Jr. has been Pro Stock’s No. 1 qualifier in Houston, Charlotte and Bristol. He has been the low qualifier 23 times in his career.

Jeg Jr. made his Pro Stock debut at the Texas Motorplex in 1997. He qualified No. 7 and defeated the late Scott Geoffrion in Round 1 before losing to Jim Yates in the quarterfinals.

Jeg Jr. won the Pro Stock title in Dallas in 2002 defeating Gene Wilson in the final round. He also earned runner-up finishes in 2000, 2003 and 2008.

In 20 appearances at the Texas Motorplex, Jeg Jr. has a elimination record of 23-16 in Pro
Stock competition.

Jeg Jr. has won at least one NHRA national event at 24 different facilities, including the Texas Motorplex. The only stops on the on the current NHRA Mello Yello tour where he has not won are Norwalk, Ohio and Epping, N.H.

Jeg Jr.’s best elapsed time in a Pro Stock car is 6.484 seconds and his best speed is 214.62 mph, both recorded in Gainesville in 2014. Earlier this season in Houston, he ran a best of 6.499 seconds, his best run in the fuel injection era.

Earlier this season, Jeg Jr. became just the 10th NHRA racer to win 600 elimination rounds when reached the semifinals in Topeka. He currently has 606 round wins. The other nine drivers with 600 wins are: John Force (1,283), Warren Johnson (874), Tony Schumacher (805), Greg Anderson (758), Kenny Bernstein (682), Larry Dixon (678), Ron Capps (675), Antron Brown (672) and Doug
Kalitta (619).