HOMESTEAD, Fla. (November 17, 2018) – Tyler Reddick, driver of the No. 9 BurgerFi Chevrolet Camaro SS, claimed the 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) driver championship with a victory in the season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. His title, the first for Reddick and third in the past five seasons for JR Motorsport co-owners Kelley Earnhardt Miller and Dale Earnhardt, Jr., marks Chevrolet’s 20th Driver’s Championship since the inception of the series in 1982.

“Congratulations to Tyler Reddick and the No. 9 Camaro SS on earning his first NASCAR Xfinity Series championship,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “Tyler and his team made a big statement winning the season-opening race at Daytona. They made the most of their spot in the Playoffs and were able to capitalize when it counted most to earn a title in one of NASCAR’s most competitive divisions.”

On the way to the title he piloted his Chevy Camaro SS to two wins, 7 top-five and 20 top-10 finishes, a career best for the 22-year old Corning, California native.

Reddick becomes the 29th different competitor to win a Xfinity Series title. He also becomes the third driver, joining former JR Motorsports and Chevrolet drivers Chase Elliott and William Byron, to earn the Xfinity Series title and Rookie of the Year honors all in the same season.

Hendrick Motorsports continues its legacy of propelling drivers to their first championships as Reddick becomes the seventh different driver to earn his first title for JR Motorsports co-owner Rick Hendrick.

“The year wasn’t the smoothest for us, but I knew coming in here if we just made it to Homestead, this is a great track for me, it rewards my aggression” Reddick said as he exited his No. 9 Camaro SS after earning his first Xfinity Series championship. “Tonight, we hit the wall a lot, but the car kept in one piece long enough for me to get to the end. These guys worked so hard all year on the BurgerFi Chevrolet. We had to overcome a lot. This year was all about learning. It was an up and down year and with everything we had to do, we had to do it in the Playoffs and it rewarded us with a championship. We can hang our hat on that. I know people will say we weren’t consistent, but we got it done when it counted most.

“I knew this team could make it to Miami. All of our guys at JR Motorsports on this team could make it to Miami, Justin Allgaier, Elliott Sadler, and Michael Annett had good speed all year long. It was just a matter of executing. We had plenty of opportunities to win races earlier in the year and I just didn’t execute. I picked a really good time to decide to win a race.

“This is just a great moment. This isn’t going to be the year the best car all year won. We had to fight really, really hard. I made a lot of mistakes, a lot of growing pains, but my guys just never gave up on me, this whole No. 9 group. We dug down deep when it mattered most and when the Playoffs came around, we dug down and got it done. We had to run well and we were consistent and got to Homestead. I knew if we got here, we had a good shot at getting this championship done.”

Reddick joins 16 other Team Chevy drivers to record this achievement. Others include: William Byron (2017), Chase Elliott (2014), Austin Dillon (2013), Clint Bowyer (2008), Martin Truex, Jr. (2004-05), Brian Vickers (2003), Kevin Harvick (2001 & ‘06), Jeff Green (2000), Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (1998-99), Randy LaJoie (1996-97), Johnny Benson (1995), David Green (1994), Steve Grissom (1993), Joe Nemechek (1992) and Larry Pearson (1987).

“Also, congratulations to Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Kelley Earnhardt Miller and Rick Hendrick on earning yet another championship for JR Motorsports,” Campbell continued. “JR Motorsports has positioned themselves as one of the premier organizations in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and Chevrolet is proud to race with them.”

Chevrolet returns to competition in the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Daytona International Speedway for the season opening event on February 17, 2018 as the newly updated Camaro SS makes its on-track competition debut.