Moffitt Joins Peters to Complete Red Horse Racing Lineup

Moffitt Joins Peters to Complete Red Horse Racing Lineup

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (February 17, 2017) – After picking up one win and three top-five finishes in six NASCAR Camping World Truck Series starts for Red Horse Racing in 2016, Brett Moffitt will pilot the No. 7 Toyota Tundra at Daytona International Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway, joining series veteran Timothy Peters at Red Horse Racing. Both teams are continuing to look for sponsorship to fill out the year.

The 24-year-old from Grimes, Iowa was the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year in 2015 and has earned nine wins in the K&N Pro Series East.

Peters returns to the No. 17 Toyota Tundra after making a run for the title in the inaugural NCWTS Chase for the Championship, finishing fourth in the points standings after earning eight top-five and 16-top 10 finishes along the way. It will be Peters’ ninth full time season in the NCWTS and in 230 series starts, he has earned 10 wins, 56 top-fives, 118 top-tens and eight poles.

“I think we have put together a championship caliber team,” said team owner Tom DeLoach. “Our goal this year is to be in contention for wins and in the mix for the playoffs and the championship at the end of the year.”

The No. 17 team will be led by crew chief Chad Kendrick, who returns to Red Horse Racing. Kendrick first arrived at Red Horse Racing with Peters in 2009 when the driver made his debut with the team. Prior to that, the duo campaigned together in 2008 and early 2009 at Premier Racing. Kendrick led the Danville, Va. native to his first win with Red Horse Racing at Martinsville Speedway in 2009 and in their time together, they picked up a total of five top-five and 14 top-10 finishes. Since then, Kendrick has earned five additional NCWTS wins, including victories with John King and Parker Kligerman at Red Horse Racing in 2012. Kendrick has also worked with drivers such as Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney and most recently Daniel Hemric in the NCWTS.

Industry veteran Butch Hylton will lead the No. 7 team. Hylton, who began his career as a national series crew chief in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2002, has worked with a plethora of drivers across all three national series, earning a total of eight NXS and eight NCWTS wins with various drivers including Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, Ron Hornaday Jr. and Peters.

The 2017 season will kick off at Daytona International Speedway on February 24, with the Next Era Energy Resources 250.