Johnny Sauter Wins 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship

Johnny Sauter Wins 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship
Chevrolet Tradition Runs Deep in Truck Series as Bowtie Brand Earns 13th Driver’s Title

HOMESTEAD, Fla. – (November 18, 2016) Johnny Sauter continued Chevrolet’s winning tradition in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) by capturing his first Championship with a third-place finish in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Since the inception of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) in 1995, Chevrolet and Silverado have been competing for wins and championships. Sauter is the 13th NCWTS driver in Chevrolet’s storied history to take the Bowtie Brand to the Championship Stage.

“Congratulations to Johnny Sauter and the No. 21 Chevrolet Silverado team on clinching the 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway tonight,” said Jim Campbell, US Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “We couldn’t be more proud for Johnny to earn his first title behind the wheel of a Chevrolet.”

Sauter, behind the wheel of the No. 21 Allegiant Chevrolet Silverado, used experience to his advantage in capturing his long-awaited first title. Over the course of the 23-race NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season, Sauter and his team earned three wins, 12 top-five’s and 19 top-10’s in route to his championship victory.

“I just ran a smart race,” said Sauter after climbing from behind the wheel of his Silverado at the championship stage. “I’m not going to lie when we qualified as poorly as we did today I thought this was going to be tough to do because you’ve got to take tires here on every pit stop. There is not real easy way to get track position, so I knew we were going to have to do it by pit stops and passing people. I just can’t thank everybody at GMS Racing, Allegiant Travel and Chevrolet, ECR horsepower, this is awesome. To be a champion, I’m speechless.”

Sauter is the inaugural winner of the Chase for the NCWTS title. This is the first season in the history of the series that the champion has been decided by a winner take all final race. Sauter becomes the eighth different Chevrolet driver to win the NCWTS championship, joining James Buescher (2012), Austin Dillon (2011), Ron Hornaday Jr. (2009, 2007, 1998 and 1996), Jack Sprague (2001, 1999, and 1997), Travis Kvapil (2003), Mike Bliss (2002) and Mike Skinner (1995).

The title gives GMS Racing and team owner Maurice Gallagher their first NCWTS championship in only the organizations third year of operation.

“This championship means a lot to me, but it means a lot to my family,” the newly crowned champion continued. “I just can’t thank these guys enough. They executed like they needed to and I can’t thank the Gallagher family enough for giving me this opportunity. It was a leap of faith to come here over the off season. Being in a Chevrolet was very important to me and this is just awesome.”

The series returns to action for the season-opening NextEra Energy Resources 250 at the World Center of Speed, Daytona International Speedway.