Chevy Racing–Indy Pole

Ed Carpenter with Chevrolet V6 Power Wins the Pole for the 97th Running of the Indianapolis 500
INDIANAPOLIS (May 18, 2013) – Ed Carpenter fulfilled a life-long dream today by winning the pole for the Indianapolis 500.  In his own Ed Carpenter Racing No. 20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet V6, Carpenter put up a blistering four-lap average speed of 228.762 mph to earn the right to lead the 33-car field to the green flag of the 97th running of the Great American Race.
With deep roots in Indiana making him a local hero at famed 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Carpenter became the first owner/driver to win the pole since 1975.
“This is a good start,” said Carpenter. “I want to make sure we keep the team focused.  I hope this is part one of a really magical month, and we’re here for race day.  This is awesome and it’s bigger than our wins and it’s huge for the team. It’s definitely a landmark day, but I don’t want to get overly focused on this because we have a lot of work to do yet.”
Andretti Autosport teammates, rookie Carlos Muñoz, No. 26 Unistraw Chevrolet, and Marco Andretti, No. 25 RC Cola Chevrolet qualified second and third respectively to give Chevrolet the front row for the 200-lap/500-mile race on May 26, 2013.
“Congratulations to Ed Carpenter and the entire team at Ed Carpenter Racing for putting the No. 20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet on the pole for the 97th running of the Indy 500,” said Chris Berube, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager for the IZOD IndyCar Series.  “It was an impressive collection of laps Ed put up in the final qualifying session.  Also, congratulations to Andretti Autosport teammates Carlos Muñoz and Marco Andretti on qualifying for the front row.  The focus for Chevrolet, our V6 powered teams and drivers, and our technical partners remains on the ultimate goal – winning the Indianapolis 500-mile race on May 26th.”
Fifteen of the 17 drivers in Chevrolet V6 powered cars have secured starting positions for next weekend’s Indianapolis 500.
E.J Viso, A.J. Allmendinger and Will Power qualified fourth, fifth and sixth to secure second row starting positions on the grid. Defending IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves and James Hinchcliffe will make up the third row of the starting field.
Other Team Chevy drivers also locked into the top-24 starting positions from the first day of qualifying are JR Hildebrand, Tony Kanaan, Oriol Servia, Sebastien Bourdais, Townsend Bell and Simona De Silvestro.