Chevrolet Wins Manufacturers’ Championships in Three NASCAR National Touring Series

Chevrolet Wins Manufacturers’ Championships in Three NASCAR National Touring Series
DETROIT (November 6, 2012) – For the fourth time in history, Chevrolet has captured the Manufacturers’ Championship Award in all three NASCAR National Touring Series.  Chevrolet has accomplished the feat of winning the three titles in 1996, 1998, 2005 and now in 2012.
“Chevrolet is proud to win all three NASCAR national series Manufacturers’ Championships,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “These three titles are a tribute to the passion and commitment of all of our team owners, crew chiefs, crews, drivers and technical partners.”
Jimmie Johnson’s victory in the TUMS Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway clinched the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Championship for Chevrolet. It is the 10th consecutive year, and the 36th time overall that the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious title in NASCAR’s top series.  To date, Team Chevy drivers have won 13 races in the 34 races completed on the 36-race schedule, including Johnson’s win in the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway to claim Chevrolet’s 700th victory in Sprint Cup Series competition.
With Austin Dillon’s second place finish in the Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway, Chevrolet clinched the Manufacturers’ Championship in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. The 2012 achievement marks the 15th time the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious Bill France Performance Cup. With two races remaining in 33-race season, Chevrolet drivers have gone to Victory Lane 12 times.
Chevrolet clinched the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Manufacturers’ Championship with Nelson Piquet, Jr.’s third place finish in the WinStar World Casino 350 at Texas Motor Speedway. Chevrolet captured the prestigious title for the eighth time since the 1995 inception of the Series. Chevrolet Silverado drivers have won 11 of the 20 races run to-date in the 22-race schedule,.
“Congratulations and thank you to all of our teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series who worked tirelessly to capture these prestigious championships for Chevrolet,” said Mark Kent, Director Chevrolet Racing. “These championships were made possible by an extraordinary level of cooperation among all of our teams, technical partners and Chevrolet engineers.  We are now focused on a strong finish to the 2012 NASCAR season in NASCAR.”
In addition to the three NASCAR titles, Chevrolet’s on-track success in 2012 extended to winning the American Le Mans Series GT Manufacturers’ Championship; Corvette Racing winning the Team Championship, and Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner won the GT drivers’ championship in the No. 4 Corvette C6.R.
In the IZOD IndyCar Series, Chevrolet captured the Manufacturers’ Championship.  Team Chevy driver Ryan Hunter-Reay won the Overall Championship and the Oval Championship, and Will Power won the Road Course Championship in his Chevrolet V6 powered IndyCar.
Chevrolet also captured the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series Daytona Prototype Engine Manufacturers’ Championship.
With two races remaining on the NASCAR schedules, Chevrolet drivers are in strong contention for each of the three driver’s championships as the 2012 season builds to an exciting, and dramatic finish.