RCR Post Race Report — Iowa Speedway Nationwide Series

RCR Post Race Report — Iowa Speedway   
NASCAR Nationwide Series
Pioneer Hi-Bred 250
Iowa Speedway
May 20, 2012
Race Highlights:
Richard Childress Racing teammates finished second (Elliott Sadler), fourth (Austin Dillon) and 10th (Brendan Gaughan).
Sadler is second in the NASCAR Nationwide Series driver championship point standings, trailing point leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. by 28 points. Dillon ranks third, followed by Sam Hornish Jr. and Cole Whitt.
The No. 2 Chevrolet team is third in the Nationwide Series owner championship point standings, 28 points shy of the No. 6 car’s lead, with the No. 3 team fourth in the standings and the No. 33 team fifth.
Dillon leads the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings over Cole Whitt.
Combined, the RCR entries posted the fastest lap of the race for 27 circuits.
Sadler and Dillon were among the eight drivers that spent 100 percent of the laps running in the top 15.
According to NASCAR’s Loop Data Statistics, Sadler ranked second in categories for average running position (3.160), driver rating (121.9), fastest drivers early in a run (130.635 mph), fastest on restarts (127.923 mph), green flag speed (128.852 mph) and speed in traffic (128.352).
Dillon was ranked third in the closers category, maintained the fourth-highest average running position (4.728), had the fourth-highest driver rating (113.6) and was the fourth-fastest driver early in a run.
Gaughan posted his highest Nationwide Series starting position (13th) and highest finish (10th) at Iowa Speedway in three starts at the 0.75-mile track.
Gaughan made 22 green-flag passes during the race.
Stenhouse earned his third win of the 2012 Nationwide Series and was followed to the finish line by Sadler, Michael McDowell, Dillon and Kurt Busch.
The next scheduled Nationwide Series race is the History 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Saturday, May 26. The 10th race of the 2012 season is scheduled to be televised live on ABC beginning at 2:30 p.m. Eastern Time and broadcast live on the Performance Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.