ARP is Proud to Sponsor East Ridge High School in the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow

The School of Automotive Machinists (SAM) will award $202,000 in
scholarships to six high school automotive teams competing at the Hot
Rodders of Tomorrow National Championship at the 2010 SEMA Show.
Team MSD from Eastern Oklahoma Tech Center, Team Auto Meter from Loara
High School, Team ARP from East Ridge High School, Team PRW from Fremd
High School, Team Edelbrock from North Orange County ROP and Team
Painless from Lakeshore High School will all be competing in the
National Championship Playoffs November 2–5, 2010, in Las Vegas.

Students must properly disassemble the engine using only hand tools,
utilizing proper detorque and disassembly procedure, including the air
cleaner, carb, distributor, plug wires, spark plugs, manifold, headers,
heads, lifters, rocker arms, push rods, timing chain and cover. Then the
oil filter, oil pan, oil pump, plus all eight pistons are removed. The
cam and crank remain in the block. The team then returns behind their
bench and waits for the judges to call them back. Teams then begin
working to reassemble once again with the correct assembly procedure and
torque specs, all while being viewed by judges and spectators.
Time-added penalties for dropped components, improper disassembly,
assembly, sportsmanship, etc., will be added to ensure correct assembly.
All procedure penalties are in the rule book provided to the schools at
the start of the school year. The engines, when reassembled, would fire
up and run if gas, water and oil were added. The team with the fastest
time, including penalty minutes, wins.